Grizzly Bear Reveal New Album Title + Artwork

Grizzly Bear have revealed that their forthcoming album will be titled “Shields” and the artwork is pictured below. The album will be out September 17/18 via Warp.

Listen to Sleeping Ute below which is the first track lifted from “Shields”.

Worldwide Tour dates:

16 Knoxville, TN @ Tennessee Theater
17 Atlanta, GA @ The Tabernacle
18 Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium
20 Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
21 Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
22 Boston, MA @ Orpheum Theater
23 Montreal, QC @ L’Olympia
24 New York, NY @ Radio City Music Hall
26 Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall
28 Cincinnati, OH @ MidPoint Music Festival
29 Champaign, IL @ Pygmalion Music Festival
30 Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre

01 Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
04 Portland, OR @ Keller Auditorium
05 Seattle, Washington @ Paramount Theatre
06 Vancouver, BC @ Commodore Ballroom
09 Oakland, CA @ Fox Theater
10 Los Angeles, CA @ Greek Theater
17 Gateshead, UK @ The Sage Gateshead
18 Manchester, UK @ Academy
20 Glasgow, UK @ Barrowland Ballroom
21 Coventry, UK @ Warwick Arts Centre
22 London, UK @ Brixton Academy
26 Oslo, Norway @ Rockefeller
27 Stockholm, Sweden @ Berns Salonger
28 Copenhagen, Denmark @ Falconer Salen
30 Hamburg, Germany @ Uebel & Gefärlich
31 Berlin, Germany @ Astra

02 Köln, Germany @ Essigfabrik
03 Paris, France @ Pitchfork Festival
04 Brussels, Belgium @ Ancienne Belgique
05 Amsterdam, Holland @ Paradiso
20 Wellington, New Zealand @ Opera House
21 Auckland, New Zealand @ Bruce Mason

For your information on Grizzly Bear, visit


Nick Zinner From The Yeah Yeah Yeahs Remixes Chew Lips

Nick Zinner (of the Yeah Yeah Yeah’s) has given Chew Lips’ new single Do You Chew? the remix treatment. Zinner changes the vibes of Chew Lips’ new single by adding synths, giving it a marching band drum rhythm and stripping back lead singer Tigs’ vocal. To accompany the remix, Chew Lips have also assembled an alternative video which contains unseen footage.

Watch the alternate video for the remix below.

MP3: Chew Lips – Do You Chew? (Nick Zinner Remix)

Cat Power Announces New Album + Releases Track

Cat Power today announced that she will be releasing “Sun”, her first album of original material from in more than six years. Chan Marshall aka Cat Power performed and produced “Sun” herself in various locations including a studio she built in Malibu. The album is set for release on September 4.

Listen to the Ruin lifted from “Sun” below.

MP3: Cat Power – Ruin

Track listing:
Always On My Own
Real Life
Human Being
Silent Machine
Nothin But Time
Peace And Love

The album was produced by Chan Marshall and mixed by Philippe Zdar.

For more information on Cat Power, visit

Introducing: Marble Lion

Photo: Lea Grobecker

It was a pleasant surprise to open our email inbox and find a message from Marble Lion, a noise pop band out of Montreal. Unfortunately the details are slim other their Bandcamp and Tumblr pages, so I can’t really provide you with further information on the band. Their music is just creepy enough to pique our interest and we decided to offer them up to you as well.

Watch Marble Lion: Foliage

MP3: Marble Lion – Buried

For more information on Marble Lion, visit

A Beta Movement Release Debut Video

Portugal’s A Beta Movement have released their debut video for the track Colour Mixing System. They make atmospheric pop music in the vein of Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Best Coast…simple, yet interesting.

Watch the video below.

A Beta Movement’s first video was produced and directed by a Baltic Film and Media School and an Image & Sound Portuguese University team.

MP3: A Beta Movement – Colour Mixing System (Demo)

Thomas D’Arcy Shelves Small Sins And Prepares Debut Solo Album

Former Small Sins frontman, Thomas D’Arcy (who literally is the nicest guy in music), announced that he will no longer be producing any new material under the name, Small Sins, but instead will be moving on with a solo career. Small Sins released their last album, “Pot Calls Kettle Black”, in late 2010. D’Arcy has spent the first months of 2012 working on his new solo album, which he says is “[his] best to date.” D’Arcy is tentatively calling the new album “What We Want” and hopes to release it late this summer.

Watch the Small Sins video for Why Don’t You Believe Me?

D’Arcy has also been recording cover versions of songs by the legendary 70’s punk group, The Monks. Covers have been recorded of the entire “Bad Habits” LP, featuring classic tracks Drugs In My Pocket, Nice Legs – Shame About the Face and Love In Stereo. The album will feature various Canadian guests rumoured to include Sloan’s Chris Murphy, Limblifter / New Pornographer’s Kurt and Ryan Dahle, Blurtonia / Change of Heart’s Ian Blurton and Doughboy’s John Kastner. The “Bad Habits” cover album is also slated for a summer release.

Superchunk Announce Summer Themed New Single

Culture Addicts faves, Superchunk will release their new single This Summer on June 12. This Summer is the A-side of this limited-edition 7″, which is the first new Superchunk music since the 2010 release of their album “Majesty Shredding”. The B-side features the band’s cover of Bananarama’s 80s hit Cruel Summer. As a bonus, the single includes a digital download code for an acoustic version of This Summer.

It will be interesting to hear how Superchunk reworks the song, but in the meantime, below is the video for the original version of Cruel Summer.

Produced by Scott Solter with artwork featuring photography by Harrison Haynes (Les Savy Fav), the 7″ will be pressed on white vinyl limited to 1300 hand-numbered copies worldwide.

Of the songs chosen for the 7″, Mac said, “I like summer songs. They could be about the actual season, or just be songs listened to most while doing things you do during the summer—taking a road trip, going to the coast, sitting outside on the roof or the porch or the beach or wherever. And actually, maybe most of those songs were written during the winter or the spring by someone somewhere cold who was looking forward to summer (because for one thing, if you want a song to come out during the summer, please note that you have to make it long before then).

If you get the “demo” version of This Summer, it’s one of many demos for this song. The very first one was actually all electric and sounds a little too close to the studio version to be worth hearing. I had to do a bunch of quiet ones to get the structure right; this is one of those. The B-side features the band’s own take on Bananarama’s ’80s hit Cruel Summer. As a bonus, the single will include a digital download code for an acoustic version of This Summer.”

Watch the Superchunk classic video for Hyper Enough below.